President Declares Disaster for Mississippi

—-President Declares Disaster for Mississippi WASHINGTON — The U.S.
Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency
announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of
Mississippi and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery
efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding on
April 28, 2014 and continuing. The President’s action makes federal
funding available to affected individuals in Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes,
Madison, Rankin, Wayne, and Winston counties. Assistance can include
grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover
uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and
business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Federal
funding is also available to state and eligible local governments and
certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for debris
removal and emergency work for damage from the severe storms, tornadoes, and
flooding in Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Rankin, Wayne, and Winston
counties. Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for
hazard mitigation measures statewide. Mark H. Landry has been named as
the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the
affected area. Landry said additional designations may be made at a later
date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further
damage assessments. Individuals and business owners who sustained losses
in the designated area can begin applying for assistance by registering
online at
or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or by web
enabled mobile device at Disaster assistance applicants, who
have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call
1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS),
call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6
a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

doc iconFS -MS 04302014.docx